August 2017

Habitats Regulations Assessments: A5 Western Transport Corridor (A5WTC)

The EC Habitats Directive (Council Directive 92/43/EEC on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora) establishes the requirement for an assessment of potential impacts upon Natura 2000 sites in Article 6(3) and 6(4). The Habitats Directive was implemented in Northern Ireland by the Conservation (Natural Habitats, etc.) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 1995 (as amended).

In exercising its functions under this legislation, and following on from previous consultation exercises in April 2014, October 2014, and April 2017, the Department hereby seeks the opinion of the general public on four updated draft reports prepared to inform an appropriate assessment on the following Natura 2000 sites:-

A5 WTC Report of Information to Inform an Appropriate Assessment SAC Watercourses covering:

  • River Foyle & Tributaries Special Area of Conservation
  • Owenkillew River Special Area of Conservation
  • River Finn Special Area of Conservation

A5 WTC Report of Information to Inform an Appropriate Assessment Tully Bog SAC covering:

  • Tully Bog Special Area of Conservation

A5 WTC Report of Information to Inform an Appropriate Assessment SPAs covering:

  • Lough Foyle Special Protection Area
  • Lough Swilly Special Protection Area
  • Lough Neagh & Lough Beg Special Protection Area

A5 WTC Report of Information to Inform an Appropriate Assessment Ramsar Sites covering:

  • Lough Foyle Ramsar Site
  • Lough Neagh & Lough Beg Ramsar Site

These reports may be inspected by any person, free of charge, at all reasonable times during the period from 22 August 2017 to 2 October 2017 at the following offices of the Department (DfI Roads):

  • Western Division, County Hall, Drumragh Avenue, Omagh;
  • Fermanagh & Omagh (East) Section Office, 32 Deverney Road, Arvalee, Omagh;
  • Mid Ulster (South) Section Office, Moygashel Depot, Main Street, Moygashel;
  • Londonderry & Strabane Section Office, 20 Derry Road, Strabane;
  • Londonderry & Strabane Section Office, 1 Crescent Road, Londonderry;
  • Headquarters, Room 2-01, Clarence Court, 10-18 Adelaide Street, Belfast;

and at the offices of-

  • Mid Ulster District Council, Circular Road, Dungannon.
  • Derry City & Strabane District Council, 47 Derry Road, Strabane.
  • Derry City & Strabane District Council, 98 Strand Road, Londonderry.
  • Fermanagh & Omagh District Council, The Grange, Mountjoy Road, Omagh.

In addition, the reports may also be inspected during the same period at the offices of Monaghan County Council, Roads Office, MTEK II Office, Armagh Road, Monaghan, Co. Monaghan and Donegal County Council, Public Services Centre, Drumlonagher, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal.


Alternatively, an electronic version of the reports may be viewed below

or at

Anyone who wishes to express an opinion on any of the reports should, within the period stated above, write to the Divisional Roads Manager, Department for Infrastructure, Western Division, County Hall, Drumragh Avenue, Omagh BT79 7AF or email

Information you provide in your response, including personal information, could be published or disclosed under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) or the Environmental Information Regulations 2004 (EIR). For further details on confidentiality and FOIA/EIR please refer to

The Department will take into consideration any opinions expressed during the period stated, before an Appropriate Assessment is made prior to the making of any Orders for the A5WTC scheme.